Random Weekend Chit Chat.

The difference between a chef and God is that God doesn’t think He’s a chef.

Everyone who wishes to get married should be able to get married, except couples who share a Facebook page.

“Vegetarians are the enemy of everything good and decent in the human spirit, an affront to all I stand for, the pure enjoyment of food. The body, these waterheads imagine, is a temple that should not be polluted by animal protein. It’s healthier, they insist, though every vegetarian waiter I’ve worked with is brought down by any rumor of a cold.” Anthony Bourdain.

A warm plate is more important than a scattering of unwilted micro greens.

When I tell you my good idea and you claim it as your own, it’s ok, I have more good ideas and all you have is the one you borrowed.

A few hours alone to prep for a Saturday night can be tremendously productive, therapeutic,  and  satisfying.

I’m writing some of this as I steal a few minutes of peace before we get busy here at work. It’s  6:00, and the kitchen is finally ready to head into what looks to be a very busy Saturday night. I’m really going to enjoy the next two days off. Tomorrow night I’ll be making paella for the family.

When you’re the slowest moving car on a three lane highway traveling in the center lane and getting passed on both sides. YOU’RE IN THE WRONG LANE!

I worked for a guy some years ago that would always claim a new recipe or dish as his own, and explain it to the staff as if he had come up with it himself, when in fact I did. Generally, the habit of taking what doesn’t belong to you is a way of life, and catches up with you at some point.

One of the worst jobs I ever had was at a place called Reel Meals. It was one of those movie theaters that served meals. There were three screens, and each one sat 70, 80, and 90 people respectively.  The movies were spaced 30 minutes apart,  which means you had to put out over 200 meals in 90 minutes. Then you’d  prep for the later showings. Weekends were the worst, there were matinees, which meant we did four turns. That job didn’t end well. One good thing was we were allowed two shift drinks, and the bartender wasn’t too bright and he considered a Guinness and a Jameson as one drink.

I’m watching the Mets and Cubs as I write.  This is the point in the game where Joe Madden thinks he’s outsmarting everyone.

I like when my work is respected , and that respect is shown by working hard to make sure my work is well presented.

I have a small collection of antique kitchen equipment.  My favorite piece is a cast iron pasta machine from the early 1900’s

 

 

One thought on “Random Weekend Chit Chat.

Leave a Reply

