A Plate of New Snippets

Alfredo is not a sauce.

As of late, chefs have been putting their food on/in anything but a plate.

A local blogger kept suggesting to me how I should write, and what I should put on my blog. This individual who apparently wasn’t happy with my subject matter and style recently, got a little testy on Facebook, then unfriended me. It’s my blog and I started it for my own reasons, and those reasons do not include creating a blog for you personally.

People used to come into our (mine and Jenn’s) pasta shop, The Yawning Duck Pasta Co. where we made fresh pasta and sauces for retail sale and tell us all the things we should do.  Things like “you should open for lunch.” “we’re not a restaurant,” we would tell them, “we are not permitted.”  Most suggestions were not what people thought would help our business, they were generally more based in self-needs and wants.

Cheese on a board is common, and acceptable, even a slate is ok but please don’t write the name of the cheese on it with chalk. It was cool for about 20 minutes and it’s dirty. I remember the cheeses I ordered.  If you cannot identify the cheeses you’ve been served then a good server should be able to tell you.

Try new things.

I recently had a burger and homemade chips.  The chips served in a mini fryer basket were stale.  Instead of the cool basket why not just serve fresh chips on my plate? The burger was good, the company was excellent.

Has anyone had Franco Rua’s cured meats at either Café Capriccio or Capriccio Saratoga?  The man is an artist.

I like my dinner on a plate, almost always.

I went to work for a little while this week, did some sit-down kind of work.  I’m still in a boot and on crutches.

Is pork belly being over-done?

I recently had dinner in a very nice restaurant and was served a steak on a wooden plank with a crack in it.  The steak was very good.  The problem was that the juices from the meat ran under the board and created a puddle on the table which was not only a mess, but caused the plank to slip and slide on the table as I cut the steak.  Also, the sauce was served on the side in a cream pitcher. How do you sauce on a flat board neatly?

I read a claim the other day that corned beef on anything but rye bread is wrong.  I’ll have to disagree.

I really need to bring my media crap together.  I have this blog, a personal Facebook page, a Facebook page (which I haven’t touched in far too long) for my catering business, The Yawning Duck,  and an unfinished website for my catering business. None of this stuff is connected.  I’m going to try to change that this weekend.

This young blog has surpassed 10,000 views earlier this week.

If you enjoy this blog, feel free to send me a friend request on Facebook.

I’ve been thinking about trying twitter again, but I think I just don’t understand it.  What’s the advantage over Facebook?

I have been asked to make someone a porchetta for their Easter dinner.  While I don’t celebrate Easter, I might as well make two and eat one with my family.

Jenn and I catered our own wedding three years ago.

8 thoughts on “A Plate of New Snippets

  1. I enjoyed the porchetta at Grappa last night – tender pork roast topped with Italian sausage, 6 or more fingerlings and an intensely garlickly side of rapini in a sauce heavily laced with rosemary. Good but killer rich. Do tell us what you do to you pig! Have fun with it – Zena

    Like

  2. Your porchetta rocks as did the Yawning Duck Pasta Co. Not only were the chips stale, they were fried in oil well past its prime. My company was even better than yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. John,
    The original recipe created in Rome during the 1920’s calls for hot fettuccine to be simply dressed with butter, Parmesan cheese, and a little pepper. There is no sauce. The cream based sauce folks have come to know as “Alfredo” is something else.

    Like

  4. Instagram is the new Twitter. I don’t get it either, but I’m participating in the photostream and seeing where it goes. I figure I’ll learn it by doing. Small mistakes in the social media space are easy to fix. Big mistakes are a different story.

    I don’t know which blogger doesn’t like what you do here, but I continue to appreciate your style and tone. Hopefully you don’t grow tired of writing this thing. Blogs come and blogs go. My hope is that chefsday sticks around for a long long time.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. chefs everywhere: PLEASE PLEASED do not place dinners on any type of slab.
    And what about the bacteria hiding in that cracked wood slab your steak was on. Shudder. (You wouldn’t want to hint at where, woodja?)

    p.s. I enjoy your blog also and look forward to new posts.

    Like

  6. mg,
    I’ll give you a hint. It was in the Capitol Region.

    Daniel,
    I think I’ve got to get all my media outlets tied up before I take on another. I’m just not efficient enough at this point.
    I’m ok with someone not liking my blog, it’s not for everyone.
    Thank you for your support.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

